Infant Optics DXR-8 Review | Video Baby Monitor |

Being new parents can be especially difficult if you haven’t ironed out exactly what your game plan is, managing your life with a new baby. As a workaround, some parents choose to hire nurses or nannies, but some just want a more hands-on approach when taking care of their child. But it needs to be said that being responsible for a new life can get in the way of your existing one and juggling both matters is no simple feat.

8.4 Total Score
SCORES: INFANT OPTIX DXR-8

EFFECTIVENESS
9
user friendly
8.5
features
8
price
8
PROS
  • Interchangeable Lens
  • Two-way Talk
  • Temperature Monitoring
CONS
  • Signal issues
  • Is not cheap
  • Medium image quality
User Rating: Be the first one!

Price

Deals
$164.95
$229.99
27 new from $164.95
41 used from $121.07
Amazon.com
Free shipping
Last updated on January 8, 2018 4:12 am
back to menu ↑

Are you a parent?

“Sometimes the littlest things take up the most room in your heart.” – Winnie the Pooh

Building on some parent’s approach, they have utilized modern technology for their family’s benefit; a baby monitor to help them out. By remotely keeping a close eye of their child, parents can rest assured that their baby is safe and comfortable while they are doing their work or sleeping.

Having a growing family can have its share of problematic situations. For example, a new mom who has to do housework on top of focusing on child care; another problem can arise from the fact that room-sharing has its own issues such as the baby developing less-than-ideal sleeping habits (parents who snore/parents staying up because of each sounds the baby makes). Bed-sharing is inherently risky and should be avoided as much as possible.

So because of all the potentially problematic situations, having the child placed in their own room is the best option. Now, keeping an eye on them is the tricky part.

back to menu ↑

Baby monitors

This is where baby monitors come into play. A baby monitor is an electronic device that enables a person to see or hear a child in real time who is in another room. Some devices even have the mic and speaker option so the parent can talk to the baby, as well as having a temperature gauge.

A baby monitor is best for parents who wish to do other activities in their house but at the same time care and watch over their baby. As a parent, you could freely do the laundry while watching your baby who safely down the hall in their crib or make dinner as your baby sleeps in another room.

Examples like that not only support the fact that having a baby monitor provides assurance that parents can see and hear that their baby is fine, it also grants freedom for the parents to not be limited and restrained to their duties and responsibilities as parents to their child.

Having a baby monitor leaves them free to perform tasks in the house one normally could not do while carrying the baby around or being constantly in the room with them.

back to menu ↑

Introducing Infant Optics DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor

Asimple yet efficient product for growing families is the Infant Optics DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor with Interchangeable Optical Lens. It is no regular baby monitor as it is equipped with an interchangeable technology, which allows the video to be streamed in real-time to its 3.5 inch LCD color display and grants the user total vision control of their baby’s room or general surroundings.

back to menu ↑

Features

  • The DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor is much like a professional camera system that lets the user equip different lens types that allow for zooming and adjusting to achieve the perfect viewing angle for any type of environment the baby is in.
  • The camera unit of the DXR-8 video baby monitor can be controlled remotely to pan or tilt in a smooth and quiet manner.
  • For added convenience, the LCD that comes with the package is completely wireless and therefore, portable.
  • It has a battery life of 10 hours in power-saving mode and 6 hours when the display screen is turned on constantly.
  • Additionally, the DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor does not require any setup whatsoever. It is a plug and play system and is not like over-Wi-Fi cameras which are less secure.
  • The DXR-8 runs on a 2.4GHz FHSS wireless transmission and provides complete digital privacy as well as delay-free audio and video playback. There have been issues within the past regarding baby monitors that run on through Wi-Fi or internet connection being hacked by people who terrorize and invade the privacy of the family because of unsecured networks. Users will not encounter anything of the sort with the Infant Optics DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor with Interchangeable Optical Lens as it is not like internet cameras, it is secure.
  • Users of the product can expect great results, with additional features such as temperature monitoring where there is a display of the room temperature where the baby is and lets the parent know if it’s too warm or too cold in the room.
  • As well as having a function of two-way talk where the user can talk back to their baby through the intercom’s push-to-talk button.
  • Not to mention the infrared night vision that the device is capable of, so parents can view their baby as well as their surroundings in the dark of night.
  • The freedom that a baby monitor gives parents is just invaluable, that they can achieve so much more in their day being unrestrained from their parental duties when their baby is comfortable and does not require direct care as of the moment.

back to menu ↑

Specifications

GENERAL

SYSTEMS GENERAL
RF Frequency ~ 2400 Mhz
Type of Modulation GFSK
Type of Spread Spectrum FHSS
Selectable Camera Channels 4
Data Rate 3 Mbps
Channel Bandwidth 3.375 MHz
Transmission Range Up to 700 feet

Camera unit

CAMERA UNIT
Input Voltage 100-240VAC @ 50/60Hz
Operating Voltage 5.9V, 1000mA
Effective Pixel 640 x 480 (VGA)
IR/Night Vision 8 IR LEDs, 1 Low light sensor
Built-Lens f 2.5mm, F 2.8
Operating Temperature -10° C (+14° F) to +50° C (122° F)
Power Adapter Input: 100-240VAC, Output: 5.9V
Exposure Control Auto
Vertical Turning Angle 95° UP, 25° DOWN
Horizontal Turning Angle 135° both left and right

Monitor unit

MONITOR UNIT
Input Voltage 100-240VAC @ 50/60Hz
Operating Voltage 5.0V, 550mA
Resolution (Pixel 320 x 240
Battery 1200mAH Li-ion 3.7V
LCD Display 3.5″ TFT color
Duration (Standby Mode) 10 Hours
Duration (Screen ON) 6 Hours
Time to charge full 7 Hours

back to menu ↑

images

back to menu ↑

VIDEO

VIDEO

back to menu ↑

Conclusion

In conclusion, managing a growing family and living the life of a parent doesn’t have to be difficult. Staying on top of everything in your house or doing work while at the same time making sure that your child’s needs are also met, achievable and with great success. One just needs to utilize the resources available to them in order to live comfortably and a baby monitor helps greatly in this regard.

back to menu ↑

Price alert and history

Set a price alert

Infant Optics DXR-8 Video Baby Monitor with Interchangeable Optical Lens, Infant Optics

Price: $164.95 as of January 8, 2018 4:12 am  
BUY IT FROM HERE
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $164.95 January 8, 2018
Highest Price $165.99 December 23, 2017
Lowest Price $164.95 January 8, 2018
Since December 23, 2017

Last price changes

$164.95 January 8, 2018
$164.99 January 6, 2018
$165.99 December 31, 2017
$165.95 December 29, 2017
$165.99 December 23, 2017

 

3 Comments
  1. I am very happy with thia purchase. The daytime image is very clear. And the night vision is even quite clear. We are using this camera with the wide angle lens that we purchased as well. And the night vision is still very clear with that lens. We did have an issue after about 4 months where night vision wasn’t working. We contacted Infant Optics and they have us email them showing what the screen looked light when using night vision. They sent us a new one immediately since it appeared our camera was defective. They were amazing about it. I am very happy with this purchase and the service we received from Baby Optics. I am able to rotate the camera around the room to keep an eye on my girls. And I am able to speak to them through the monitor. That is a wonderful feature because we have two girls sharing a room and we often have to tell them to get back in bed and stop playing. I love this monitor and I would purchase from this company again. We purchased a second camera and added it to this monitor when we had our third child. The monitor is very simple to function. I did not even have to read the instructions to use it aside from when syncing the camera to the monitor. Very pleased with this purchase. The temperature reading has always seemed to be accurate for us. And I love that feature when dressing the kids for bed on nights when we do not have the air or heat on.Update: I had an issue with the night vision on my camera no longer working after about 4 months. I contacted Infant Optics and they were very timely getting back to me and replacing the camera. I would absolutely buy another product from them in the future. I love this camera and monitor and they customer service was A+.Please feel free to select below whether this review was helpful to you.

  2. We have been using the Infant Optics DXR-8 video monitor for 1 year now and felt we could now give an accurate review.If you’re in a hurry, the summary of this review is that this camera and monitor are great and the customer service provided by the company is outstanding (see below). So stop hunting and trying to weigh all the baby camera/monitor reviews and get this camera and monitor if it provides you with all the features you want. You really aren’t going to find anything better.We initially purchased this camera and monitor after spending way too much time pouring over all the options available to us, trying to find the BEST camera and monitor for our new baby.Our main concerns were getting a good camera with quality night imaging, good sound and an easily viewable monitor. We also felt we didn’t want a system that sent our image feed off to some remote server where it would be stored for some period of time for whatever analytics that the company performed. The Infant Optics DXR-8 fulfilled all our wishes.Set-up:Setting up the monitor and camera was easy. We followed the directions and had no issues at all pairing the camera and monitor.The camera was actually very light and we hung it up on the wall so it could capture the entire inside of the crib. Again, it was very easy.USE:The monitor had a clear picture in day light and more importantly, at night. The monitors range was sufficient for us and we had no problems even after we moved baby out of our room and into her own as our rooms were on different floors.The monitor always worked great and we could always see the baby when we wanted. The controls on the monitor were easy to use and the buttons were large enough to use in the middle of the night with no light or light from monitor alone. We appreciated the simplicity, particularly when sleep deprived.In terms of battery life for the monitor, we had no issues once we figured out our schedule. We used it pretty much throughout the day unplugged and kept it plugged in overnight night by our bed, pretty much like our phones. Occasionally we ran out of battery but not frequently enough where we thought there was something wrong. It was all we could ask for.Customer Service:Now for the best part. Coming up on a year of use, the power button on the monitor began to stick. We started having issues turning the monitor on and off and putting it to sleep. It got to the point where the monitor turned on and off by itself sporadically which was problematic at night.We wrote an email to Infant Optics explaining the situation and hoping for a repair or replacement. We received a response on the very same day we wrote (Sunday!) explaining that a replacement monitor would be easiest.So we sent the monitor back through the mail and sent them a picture of the package and the receipt. Given this proof, they were able to send out our replacement before they received our broken monitor and we received the new monitor in the mail in 2 days!But that’s not all. We accidentally sent back the battery for the monitor which we were instructed not to do (The monitor still works without a battery if plugged in). So we wrote again explaining our mistake. Infant Optics immediately got back to us again and sent out another battery for the monitor. 2 days later we had a new battery for our new monitor.Conclusion:Honestly, we could not ask for better treatment. This is the type of costumer service that actually makes you happy and reaffirms that the Infant Optics camera and monitor was the right choice for our family.You can’t go wrong with this camera and monitor. It works great and it is backed up by outstanding customer service that provides peace of mind all new parents should be afforded.

  3. Okay, this is my fifth video monitor. Sixth, actually, because I replaced a Motorola one. I started with the Wi-Fi baby monitor, which my friends have liked. When I set it up it was easy but the camera wasn’t very good. Also I needed a phone or some kind of device to check on the baby which didn’t make any sense to me once I got it out of the box, because you want to monitor going all the time. So I returned that and I did a lot of research and ended up with the Motorola. The Motorola had a very good camera but it said pan and scan on the box and it was just a manual pan and scan. It had a temperature reading which I liked, and lullabies which is stupid. The reason the Motorola ultimately failed is the battery life And more importantly, the USB cable stopped charging that the damn thing. The connection was bad. So I returned that for another one, and that took even less time for the USB port to fail. Then I got a Summers infant wide angle camera, And the picture on that was truly craptastic. Maybe it was good for getting a wide angle of the room but you could make out almost no detail at all on the night vision. It was like watching my baby without my glasses on and I need my glasses. So finally I ordered this product and I also ordered one other video camera called easy at home. The easy at home camera was a lot cheaper; it was only $100 but it didn’t have the temperature gauge which I decided I liked and there was a slight buzzing from the parent unit. That might’ve been solved with figuring out the interference, but then I realized I didn’t need it once I opened this infant optics camera. So far I love this camera. It’s got two lenses which is very cool, the pan and scan function is automated and can be controlled from the parent unit which is excellent. Before, with the Motorola, if the camera wasn’t quite pointing at the baby, we would have to sneak in the room and move it and this one I can just do from the comfort of wherever I’m sitting. It’s got the temperature function in the picture is very very very clear. The menu items and functions on the parent unit are very intuitive, and even better, so far it has a very excellent battery life. The Motorola, honestly, lasted about half an hour when not plugged in. This one I haven’t tested to its limits but it’s goes an hour or more without losing a bar. Plus, smartly, this one comes with a second charger, so you can leave two plug-ins in different places in the house where you normally will be in leave the thing plugged in all the time. The only thing that worries me about this one is it also has a USB micro charger, and that was such a disaster with the Motorola that I am wary, but hopefully this won’t be a problem with this one. So I hope this was helpful for you. There are so many options out there and as parents we always want what’s best for our child, but it’s helpful when a product actually works and isn’t garbage.

Leave a reply

Go4amz | Gadget Reviews | Oral B Pro 1000 | Instax Mini 8 |